COUNCIL

ANNUAL MEETING HELD AT THE TOWN HALL, BOOTLE ON THURSDAY 10TH MAY, 2012

PRESENT: The Mayor (Councillor K. Cluskey) (in the Chair)

The Deputy Chair (Councillor M. Fearn) (Vice Chair)

Councillors Ashton, Atkinson, Ball, Bennett, Booth, Bradshaw, Brennan, Brodie - Browne, Byrom, Carr, K. Cluskey, L. Cluskey, Crabtree, Cuthbertson, Dorgan, M. Dowd, P. Dowd, Dutton, Fairclough, Lord Fearn, Gatherer, Gustafson, Hands, Hardy,

Hartill, Hubbard, Jones, John Kelly,

John Joseph Kelly, Keith, Kermode, Kerrigan, Killen,

Lappin, Maguire, Maher, McGinnity, McGuire,

McIvor, McKinley, Moncur, Murphy, Page, Papworth,

Roberts, Robertson, Robinson, Roche, Tweed, Veidman, Sir Ron Watson, Weavers, Webster and

Welsh

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Blackburn, Dawson, Dodd, Friel, Mahon, Preece, Rimmer, Shaw, Sumner and Tonkiss.

2. ELECTION OF MAYOR FOR 2012/13

It was moved by Councillor P. Dowd, seconded by Councillor Maher and unanimously

RESOLVED:

That Kevin Cluskey, a Councillor of the Borough, be elected Mayor of the Borough for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of office by his successor.

Councillor Cluskey then made a Declaration of Acceptance of Office and took the Chair for the meeting.

3. ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIR FOR 2012/13

It was moved by Councillor Robertson, seconded by Councillor Brodie-Browne and unanimously

RESOLVED:

That Maureen Fearn, J.P., a Councillor of the Borough, be elected the Deputy Chair of the Council for the ensuing Municipal Year and until the acceptance of office by her successor.

4. VOTE OF THANKS TO RETIRING MAYOR

It was moved by Councillor Peter Dowd, seconded by Councillor Veidman and unanimously

RESOLVED: That

- (1) the Council does hereby place on record its appreciation of the ability, courtesy and impartiality, shown by Councillor Paul Pascal Cummins in his capacity as Mayor of the Borough and Chairman of the meetings of the Council, during the Municipal Year 2011-2012 and for his attendance at many civic and public functions, both inside and outside of the Borough;
- (2) the Council also desires to extend its thanks to Mrs. Carol Cummins for her support and encouragement given to the Mayor;
- (3) the Council wishes to record its appreciation of the excellent effort and involvement by both Councillor Cummins and Mrs. Cummins, in connection with the Mayor of Sefton's Charity Fund;
- (4) the Council further desires to extend its sincere thanks to Councillor Cummins and Mrs. Cummins for the hospitality extended to Royal Visits, Overseas Visitors, Civic Dignitaries and Twinning Officials hosted by this Borough; and
- (5) a copy of the Resolution be passed under the Corporate Seal and presented to Councillor Cummins.

Councillor Cummins and Mrs. Cummins were then presented with framed copies of the Vote of Thanks as tokens of the Council's appreciation of the manner in which they had undertaken their duties in the Office of Mayor during the past twelve months.

Councillor Cummins responded to the Vote of Thanks and expressed his appreciation to his Mayoress, Mrs. Cummins, the members of the public, various organisations and Council officers who had supported him during his Year of Office.

5. ADJOURNMENT OF MEETING

It was moved by Councillor Peter Dowd, seconded by Councillor Maher and

RESOLVED:

That the meeting be adjourned and the Council re-convene on Tuesday, 15 May 2012 at 6.30 p.m. in Bootle Town Hall.